Home | Natural gas | Market development
Dynamic growth of natural gas in European energy balances
 
  Contact Deutsch  
The history of natural gas as an industrial resource in Western Europe began in 1959 with the discovery of the Groningen field in the Netherlands, followed a few years later by the first discoveries in the UK sector of the North Sea.

Gas reserves far bigger than the domestic market could absorb were found off the Norwegian coast in 1970, prompting Norway to build pipelines exporting gas to both Continental Europe and the UK.

Russia's rise to the top among gas exporters
While the former Soviet Union had been exporting very small quantities of gas to Poland as far back as the end of the 1940s, the idea of large-scale exports to Western Europe was regarded as unworkable on both political and technical grounds. The focus of Soviet natural gas production was moving from the Volga/Urals, North Caucasus and Ukraine to Siberia, several thousand kilometres to the northeast.

The major challenges posed by transporting gas over such a distance were not overcome until the 1970s, when a pipeline was constructed which ran from Siberia to the Ukraine in connection with the development of Siberian reserves, especially the vast fields of Medvezhe, Urengoy and Yamburg.

Between 1970 and 1980, deliveries of Soviet gas to Western Europe increased sharply from 3.4 BCM to 26 BCM a year. By 1990, total gas exports had risen to 109 BCM, and Western Europe, with 63 BCM of imports, was the largest buyer of Soviet gas.

The Transmediterranean Pipeline from Algeria through Tunisia to Sicily, which began operating in 1983, was the first to transport North African gas to Europe. It was followed in 1996 by the GME Pipeline from Algeria through Morocco to Spain and Portugal. The capacity of the Transmediterranean line has since been increased substantially, bringing Algerian exports to Europe close to 35 BCM in 2003. GME capacity will be stepped up in the near future too.

Energy dialogue between the EU and Russia
The foundations of Russia's gas export business were laid during the Cold War. The trade was able to develop despite political opposition, partly because the governments of Western Europe believed it could be a force for peace, partnership and prosperity.

The success story of the first Soviet and then Russian gas deliveries to Europe was another reason. With the passing of the Cold War, the European Commission proposed an "energy dialogue" with Russia. This agreement created a high-level channel of communication for resolving disagreements between the two sides, for example over destination clauses in natural gas contracts. Within the framework of the dialogue, the EU has agreed to recognise certain Russian gas projects as "energy infrastructure projects of common interest". These include the North European Pipeline, for which the EU is cofinancing a feasibility study, the Yamal Pipeline, the Shtokman gas field and the Druzhba-Adria oil pipeline link.
 
 
 Further information 
 
Natural gas imports to Europe >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 18.10.2017Legal Notice

Home | Erdgas | Marktentwicklung
Dynamische Entwicklung des Erdgasmarkts in Europa
 
  Kontakt English  
Die Geschichte der industriellen Nutzung von Erdgas in Westeuropa beginnt mit der Entdeckung von Erdgasvorkommen im niederländischen Groningen im Jahr 1959 sowie im britischen Gebiet der Nordsee nur wenige Jahre später.

1970 wurden vor der norwegischen Küste Erdgasvorkommen gefunden, die den Eigenbedarf des Landes bei weitem überstiegen. Norwegen begann deshalb, Erdgas mittels Pipelines nach Kontinentaleuropa und Großbritannien zu exportieren.

Aufstieg Russlands zum führenden Gasexporteur
Während die ehemalige Sowjetunion bereits Ende der 40er-Jahre geringe Mengen Erdgas nach Polen exportierte, waren Gasexporte in größerem Umfang nach Westeuropa aus politischen, aber auch technischen Gründen kein Thema. Denn das Zentrum der sowjetischen Erdgasproduktion verschob sich von den Regionen Wolga/Ural, Nordkaukasus und Ukraine weit in den Nordosten nach Sibirien.

Die großen Herausforderungen, die mit dem Transport von Erdgas über mehrere Tausend Kilometer verbunden sind, wurden erst in den 70er-Jahren gelöst, als im Zuge der Erschließung der sibirischen Gasvorkommen, insbesondere der riesigen Erdgasfelder von Medvezhe, Urengoy und Yamburg, eine Erdgas-Pipeline von Sibirien bis in die Ukraine gebaut wurde.

Zwischen 1970 und 1980 nahmen die sowjetischen Erdgaslieferungen nach Westeuropa von 3,4 Mrd. m3 auf 26 Mrd. m3 pro Jahr markant zu. Nur zehn Jahre später wurden bereits 109 Mrd. m3 ausgeführt, und Westeuropa war mit einer Importmenge von 63 Mrd. m3 der bedeutendste Abnehmer von sowjetischem Erdgas.

Mit Inbetriebnahme der Trans-Mediterranean Pipeline von Algerien über Tunesien nach Sizilien wurde 1983 erstmals auch nordafrikanisches Erdgas nach Europa transportiert. 1996 kam die GME Pipeline von Algerien über Marokko nach Spanien und Portugal hinzu. Im Laufe der Jahre wurde die Transportkapazität der Trans-Mediterranean Pipeline erheblich vergrößert, und 2003 belief sich der Erdgasexport von Algerien nach Europa auf nahezu 35 Mrd. m3. Auch die GME-Kapazität soll in naher Zukunft ausgebaut werden.

Energiedialog zwischen der EU und Russland
Der Grundstein für die russischen Erdgasexporte wurde noch während des Kalten Kriegs gelegt. Trotz politischer Spannungen konnte sich der Handel mit Erdgas entwickeln, unter anderem weil die Regierungen Westeuropas damit die Hoffnung auf Frieden, Partnerschaft und steigenden Wohlstand verbanden.

Einen weiteren Grund bildete die Erfolgsgeschichte der ersten sowjetischen und später russischen Erdgaslieferungen nach Europa. Nach Ende des Kalten Kriegs schlug die Europäische Kommission Russland einen «Energiedialog» vor. Diese Vereinbarung schuf die Grundlage, um strittige Fragen wie Bestimmungsklauseln in Erdgaskontrakten auf höchster Ebene zu klären. Im Rahmen des Dialogs hat die EU bestimmte Erdgasprojekte in Russland als «Energie-Infrastrukturprojekte von gemeinsamem Interesse» anerkannt. Dazu gehören die North European Pipeline, für die die EU eine Machbarkeitsstudie mitfinanziert, die Yamal Pipeline, das Stockmanskoje-Erdgasfeld sowie der Druzhba-Adria-Erdöl-Pipeline-Link.
 
 
 Weitere Informationen 
 
Erdgasimporte nach Europa >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 24.3.2017Rechtlicher Hinweis