Home | Natural gas | Importance
Natural gas steadily gaining importance
 
  Contact Deutsch  
Large-scale crude oil exports by the former Soviet Union to Western Europe predated those of natural gas by about a decade. While Soviet exports totalled just under 16 million tons (MT) of crude oil back in 1960, the volume of exports from what are now the CIS countries had multiplied to more than 200 MT by 2003. Oil will retain the largest share of European energy balances over the longer term, although its share is projected to decline from over 40% in 2000 to 37% in 2030. The main reason for this is the substitution of natural gas for oil in heating and electricity generation.

Reasons for the increase in gas consumption for electricity generation
Strong growth in electricity consumption holds the key to rising gas demand in Europe over the next three decades. All projections of European gas demand see the power sector accounting for 65-80% of growth over this period. According to the calculations of the International Energy Agency (IEA), gas consumption in Western Europe for electricity generation is set to increase from about 115 billion cubic metres (BCM) in 2000 to more than 400 BCM in 2030.

What other reasons are there for using natural gas?
- Gas is a cheaper fuel than coal for electricity generation.
In most European countries, new nuclear power plants are either politically unacceptable or commercially too risky for private operators.
Renewable energy sources are much more expensive than electricity generated by fossil fuels and are thus not expected to account for more than 20% of electricity consumption over the next 30 years.

Natural gas also has significant advantages over other fossil fuels with respect to harmful emissions. In support of the Kyoto Protocol's greenhouse gas reduction targets, the European Union defined a legal framework for trading in emissions certificates, which came into effect in 2005. Taken together with the general tightening of environmental standards by the European Commission, this will make for an added incentive to favour gas in the coming decades. As long as the differential between gas and coal prices does not widen too greatly, gas will remain the most commercially attractive fuel for electricity generation.

While demand is expected to increase considerably over the next 30 years, it is forecast that European gas production volumes will decline. The UK is projected to be importing around half of its gas supplies by 2010 and as much as 80% by 2020, by which time Dutch reserves are also likely to show the first signs of dwindling. While Norwegian gas exports are continuing to increase, they will peak at 95-100 BCM by 2010. Any further increase will require the discovery and development of new reserves.

 
 Further information 
 
Worldwide gas demand >>
 
 
Leading gas exporters >>
 
 
European gas balances >>
 
 
Oil balances in the European Union >>
 
 
Cost of coal and gas-fired electricity generation >>
 
 
Liquefied natural gas as an alternative to pipeline gas >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 18.10.2017Legal Notice

Home | Erdgas | Bedeutung
Erdgas gewinnt zunehmend an Bedeutung
 
  Kontakt English  
Schon zehn Jahre vor den ersten Erdgaslieferungen exportierte die ehemalige Sowjetunion größere Mengen Erdöl nach Westeuropa. Betrugen die sowjetischen Exporte 1960 noch knapp 16 Mio. Tonnen Rohöl, hat sich das Exportvolumen der heutigen GUS-Länder bis 2003 auf über 200 Mio. Tonnen vervielfacht. Auch auf längere Sicht wird Erdöl der wichtigste Energieträger in Europa bleiben, obschon sein Anteil an der Energiebilanz gemäß Prognosen von über 40% im Jahr 2000 auf 37% im Jahr 2030 abnehmen dürfte. Dies ist in erster Linie auf den Ersatz durch Erdgas für Heizungen und die Stromerzeugung zurückzuführen.

Gründe für den steigenden Erdgasverbrauch zur Stromerzeugung
Der Hauptfaktor für die in Europa steigende Nachfrage nach Erdgas über die kommenden 30 Jahre ist der stark wachsende Stromverbrauch. Sämtliche Annahmen zum europäischen Erdgasbedarf in diesem Zeitraum gehen davon aus, dass das Wachstum zu 65 bis 80% auf die Elektrizitätsindustrie entfällt. Nach Berechnungen der Internationalen Energieagentur (IEA) wird in den westeuropäischen Ländern der Erdgasverbrauch zur Stromerzeugung von rund 115 Mrd. m3 im Jahr 2000 auf über 400 Mrd. m3 im Jahr 2030 steigen.

Was spricht weiter für den Einsatz von Erdgas?
Erdgas weist bei der Stromerzeugung Preisvorteile gegenüber Kohle auf;
in den meisten europäischen Ländern sind neue Kernkraftwerke aus politischen Gründen nicht realisierbar oder sie stellen für private Betreibergesellschaften ein zu hohes kommerzielles Risiko dar;
erneuerbare Energiequellen sind wesentlich teurer als Elektrizität aus fossilen Brennstoffen. Entsprechend dürfte ihr Anteil am Energieverbrauch über die nächsten 30 Jahre höchstens 20% erreichen.

In Bezug auf schädliche Emissionen weist Erdgas zudem deutliche Vorteile gegenüber anderen fossilen Brennstoffen auf. Im Rahmen des Kyoto-Protokolls zur Reduktion der Treibhausgase hat die Europäische Union einen Rechtsrahmen für den Handel mit Emissionszertifikaten definiert, der 2005 in Kraft trat. Im Verbund mit der generellen Verschärfung der Umweltschutzvorschriften durch die Europäische Kommission wird dies für die nächsten Jahrzehnte den Anreiz zur Verwendung von Erdgas erhöhen. Solange sich die Preisdifferenz zwischen Erdgas und Kohle nicht allzu weit öffnet, wird Erdgas der kommerziell attraktivste Brennstoff für die Stromerzeugung bleiben.

Parallel zu der erwarteten deutlichen Nachfragezunahme in den kommenden 30 Jahren dürften die Erdgasfördermengen in Europa zurückgehen. Für Großbritannien wird erwartet, dass der Erdgasbedarf bis 2010 rund zur Hälfte und bis 2020 zu 80% durch Importe gedeckt werden muss. Ab 2020 dürften auch die niederländischen Reserven zur Neige gehen. Die norwegischen Erdgasexporte werden zwar laufend gesteigert, sie werden aber bis 2010 mit 95 bis 100 Mrd. m3 ihren Höchststand erreichen. Eine weitere Erhöhung setzt die Entdeckung und Erschließung neuer Erdgasvorkommen voraus.

 
 Weitere Informationen 
 
Weltweite Nachfrage nach Erdgas >>
 
 
Die größten Gasexporteure >>
 
 
Europäische Gasbilanz >>
 
 
Erdölbilanz in der Europäischen Union >>
 
 
Kosten der Elektrizität aus Erdgas und Kohle >>
 
 
Flüssiges Erdgas als Alternative zum Pipeline-Gas >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 11.12.2017Rechtlicher Hinweis