Home | Natural gas | Importance
Natural gas steadily gaining importance
 
  Contact Deutsch  
Liquefied natural gas as an alternative to pipeline gas

The process of liquefying natural gas at minus 161 degrees Celsius, loading it onto tankers and regasifying it on arrival was both enormously demanding from a technical viewpoint and extremely expensive right up to the 1990s.

Although the first tankers full of liquefied natural gas (LNG) were arriving in the UK and France before the Netherlands began pipeline exports, and although LNG-receiving terminals were built in Italy, Spain and Belgium and later Turkey and Greece too, LNG growth rates remained modest. LNG did not emerge as a genuine alternative to pipeline gas until new developments in technology allowed it to compete on a level footing. By 2003, nearly 40% of the 525 BCM of gas consumed in Europe was imported from countries outside the continent, including 37 BCM in the form of LNG.

Despite their comparatively low volumes to date, LNG imports are playing an important role in the development of the European gas market. LNG is set to gain further significance in future thanks to its advantages over pipeline gas as regards transportation over longer distances and across deep oceans, for which building pipelines is not an option.
 
 Further information 
 
Worldwide gas demand >>
 
 
Leading gas exporters >>
 
 
European gas balances >>
 
 
Oil balances in the European Union >>
 
 
Cost of coal and gas-fired electricity generation >>
 
 
Liquefied natural gas as an alternative to pipeline gas >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 15.12.2018Legal Notice

Home | Erdgas | Bedeutung
Erdgas gewinnt zunehmend an Bedeutung
 
  Kontakt English  
Flüssiges Erdgas als Alternative zum Pipeline-Gas

Die Verflüssigung von Erdgas bei minus 161 Grad Celsius, das Verladen auf Tanker sowie die Regasifizierung nach der Ankunft stellten bis in die 90er-Jahre eine enorme technische Herausforderung sowie einen extremen Kostenfaktor dar.

Obwohl in Großbritannien und in Frankreich die ersten Tanker mit verflüssigtem Erdgas (Liquefied Natural Gas, LNG) anlegten, bevor die Niederlande mit den ersten Erdgasexporten via Pipeline begannen, und auch in Italien, Spanien und Belgien sowie später in der Türkei und in Griechenland LNG-Terminals gebaut wurden, blieben die Wachstumsraten von LNG gering. Erst als neue technische Entwicklungen LNG gegenüber Pipeline-Gas konkurrenzfähig machten, konnte sich LNG als Alternative etablieren. Von den im Jahr 2003 in Europa verbrauchten 525 Mrd. m3 Erdgas stammten knapp 40% aus Ländern außerhalb des Kontinents, davon entfielen 37 Mrd. m3 auf LNG.

Trotz des bisher vergleichsweise geringen Volumens spielt LNG für die Entwicklung des europäischen Gasmarkts eine erhebliche Rolle. In Zukunft dürfte LNG weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen, denn über längere Distanzen oder wenn der Bau von Pipelines aufgrund der Meerestiefe unmöglich ist, bietet LNG eine zweckmäßige Alternative zu Pipeline-Gas.
 
 Weitere Informationen 
 
Weltweite Nachfrage nach Erdgas >>
 
 
Die größten Gasexporteure >>
 
 
Europäische Gasbilanz >>
 
 
Erdölbilanz in der Europäischen Union >>
 
 
Kosten der Elektrizität aus Erdgas und Kohle >>
 
 
Flüssiges Erdgas als Alternative zum Pipeline-Gas >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 22.2.2017Rechtlicher Hinweis